Live United Logo United Way Logo
Brookings Area United Way



Underneath everything we are, underneath everything we do, we are all people.

And when we reach out a hand to one, we influence the condition of all.

That's what it means to



About Us




History of Brookings Area United Way





Fifty five years ago, a small group of area businessmen started the Brookings United Charities.  In 1955, familiar Brookings names like Fishback, Kendall, Sexauer, Dalthorp, Blauert, McCann and Chapman aspired to receive gifts and administer them for charitable, educational, civic and philanthropic uses.  The name was then changed to Brookings United Fund and now serves as Brookings Area United Way.  Although the board members and dollar amounts raised has changed through the years, the purpose stays the same:




Brookings Area United Way 

~ uniting people, sharing resources, inspiring hope and enriching lives for a stronger Brookings County. 






Board of Directors 

Heidi Gullickson- Executive Director      

Gail Tidemann -  Past President Retired / SDSU
September Bessler - President Brookings Health System

Craig Martin - President Elect

Michelle Osmanski - Secretary


Cathy Chapin - Treasurer

First Bank and Trust


LaShelle Bruinsma Daktronics
Tim Meland 3M
Patty Jorgenson Brookings School System
Brad Skyberg Midwest Glass
Mike Kondratuk Larson Manufacturing
Brian Gatzke Northern Plains Appraisal
Dave Gibson Dacotah Bank
Jill Thorngren SDSU


Click here to view our 2013-2014 Annual Report

Click here to view our 2013 Form 990


Click here to view our 2012-2013 Annual Report

Click here to view our 2012 Form 990.


Click here to view our 2011-12 Annual Report 
Click here to view our IRS 2011 Form 990








Our dedicated Board Members spent an afternoon "visioning" about how to grow our organization to be even more impactful. TOGETHER, we look forward to continuing our strong partnerships in the Brookings area as we carry out our mission of UNITING people, SHARING resources, INSPIRING hope and ENRICHING lives for a STRONGER Brookings County.






Pictured above are Tim Meland, Deanna Santema, and LaShelle Bruinsma.














Pictured above are Patty Jorgenson, Gail Tidemann, Cathy Chapin, and Craig Martin.














Pictured above are Herb Wounded Head, Brad Skyberg, Michelle Osmanski, and Brian Gatzke.












Pictured above are Jackie McCord, September Bessler, and Dave Gibson.



Bookmark and Share